Boot camp and beyond


These are a few of my favourite superfoods
26 November 2006 (Sunday), 10:09 pm
Filed under: NaBloPoMo



translucence

Originally uploaded by *kaishin*.

Isn’t this picture of Kai’s gorgeous? I love pomegranates. They taste just as jewel-like and juicy as they look. And the Persephone mythology tie-in is a nice bonus. It gives me someone to blame for the whole concept of winter. (It is still snowing in Vancouver, and admittedly the snow-bedecked trees are beautiful and the West End and English Bay this morning made me wish I’d brought my camera with me to breakfast with my parents, but I really hate being cold.)

In contrast to my feelings about winter, I love the whole concept of superfoods, especially the ones added earlier this year, because they are all YUMMY.

Except, not quite all. Let me break it down.

Delicious:
Beans, blueberries, broccoli, oats, pumpkin, salmon, spinach, pomegranate, cinnamon, apples, honey, cold-pressed extra virgin olive oil, dark chocolate.

Varies depending on form and execution:
Oranges, soy, tea, tomatoes (pinkish, mealy tomatoes are the only thing that demoted them from delicious), walnuts (I’ll take pecans given a choice between the two), yogurt, kiwi

No thanks:
Turkey

They just need to add artichokes, barley, red lentils, and this really great creamy French cheese whose name I’ve forgotten (helpful, I know) to the list and I’d happily eat nothing but superfoods.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the info Christina! I’ve learned something new for the day :) I like pretty much all of the superfoods, it’s just a matter if my digestive is or isn’t allergic to a few of them ;P

Thanks for the kind words on the photo!

Comment by Kaishin

I love my superfoods, except for walnuts. Give me peanuts any day! I don’t know what it is but those are the only nuts I’ll eat.

Also, why isn’t beer on the superfood list?? Boo.

Comment by SupaCoo




Leave a Reply

