Boot camp and beyond


Detoxifying
12 November 2006 (Sunday), 11:59 pm
Filed under: Food, NaBloPoMo

Now that I’ve learned to love the burn (exercise-wise), I’m learning to love the churn.  The churning of my digestive tract, that is.  Mounir and I started the Wild Rose Detox cleanse today.  I’m skeptical about the whole thing; I wonder how many toxins in our bodies come from food, as opposed to from the air we breathe or the water we drink and all the strange particles that end up in them.

Also, it doesn’t seem to be very evidence-based.  As RS commented on this blog post, it seems like pseudoscience and herbs can have dangerous side effects.  Skimming this thread on detox diets just confirms my general opinion that detox diets/cleanses are something people do to make up for their otherwise unhealthy nutritional choices.

Mounir has done the cleanse several times and it does make us cook more often and more healthily, so for 12 days I’m willing to give it a shot.  Today we didn’t actually cook much — soft-boiled eggs for breakfast, ful at his parents’ for a second late breakfast, and then grilled salmon and salad for dinner.  I googled recipes for more variety later in the week.  Apparently there’s a cookbook that works with the cleanse, and several of the recipes have been typed up and posted here.  The lentil dahl, warm sesame cucumber rice salad and Moroccan chickpea soup sound particularly good.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

(found your site through the NaBloPoMo Randomizer…)

I’ve always wanted to try a detox but something about not being able to stuff my face with whatever tickles my fancy totally gets me. (Today it’s pickles, and I’m not even pregnant.) (No, really, I’m NOT!)

Comment by SupaCoo

Just thought I’d say hi as I’m trying to visit and comment on as many of the NaBloPoMo blogs as I can. :)

Some of those recipes at the clubvibes site sound really good; I’ll have to try them once :)

Comment by Sephiroth




Leave a Reply

