Boot camp and beyond


Excuses, excuses
10 November 2006 (Friday), 11:06 pm
Filed under: Food, Habits, NaBloPoMo, Outside boot camp log

Reasons this whole self-imposed no-wheat-no-dairy-no-sugar regime wasn’t very realistic for more than four days:

1. Seven years ago today Mounir and I went out for our first dinner alone, so really, we had to do the same tonight. My stomach was being temperamental so we opted not to go to the Thai restaurant that was the site of our first date, and instead walked to our local chophouse. We didn’t have dessert but the bread that came while we were waiting for our starters was fresh and hot and good. So was the mushroom velouté on my polenta, and the red wine. I was super phlegm-y this morning despite 4 days of abstemiousness, so I think maybe there’s some other allergy at play.

2. Tomorrow afternoon we’re test tasting wedding cake. I’m looking forward to the wheat, sugar dairy trifecta.

Things that make me not want to exercise, a short and incomplete list:

1. fatigue
2. sore feet
3. phlegm and other ailments
4. rain

Despite the presence of all four demotivators, I walked to work this morning. It took until 2 or 3 pm for my trousers to dry out from the knee down; my socks only stopped feeling soggy an hour or so ago. Heavy showers laugh in the face of my compact folding umbrella.

Tomorrow the forecast calls for more rain. I’m planning to swim in the morning and hoping the hot tub and sauna afterwards will make me willing to face the rest of the day.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I read your post on the “Self-imposed no-wheat-no-dairy-no-sugar regime” you made and it made me laugh. I started reading “The Paleo Diet” by Dr. Loren Cordain and decided to give it a try. It was fabulous once I got into the regimen. However, the day after I would have an open dinner, I experienced the phlegmy-ness you experienced. You mentioned it may be an allergy, but I have to disagree. I notice that whenever I follow Phase 1 or 2 of the diet, I feel great, my muscles don’t ache, I recover from my workouts quicker, and there is no phlegm. But, the times that I break my new eating habits, all of these symptoms return, no matter the time of year or allergy season. I think this is our bodies’ way of responding to foods we should not be eating. What do you think? Did you ever try it again? If you read his book, he says in phase 1 you should allow yourself three ‘open’ meals, then two ‘open’ meals for phase 2. Perhaps these open meals are necessary to make the regimen work.

Comment by Kim Daniels




Leave a Reply

