Boot camp and beyond


Questioning my sanity
5 November 2006 (Sunday), 11:18 pm
Filed under: Boot camp log, NaBloPoMo

Flossing daily is working fine so far, as is working out daily.  I haven’t yet taken a day off of exercise, though since tomorrow’s my last day of personal training I probably will be sore and lazy Tuesday.  No, I’m questioning my sanity about this daily blog posting, and about having signed up for the two week boot camp at the end of the month.  Why do I do this to myself?
To remind myself that I’m not the only crazy one, I reread some emails from Amanda, my former flatmate who is now doing a boot camp as one of the courses for her (otherwise highly analytical) PhD in California.  I liked this bit, from a week or two ago:

I forgot to mention before — boot camp is kicking my ass!!! As my instructor was urging me on the other day (read: yelled at me to be faster/stronger), I responded, only half kidding, “Sorry, I’m the weakest link.” And he said, overly seriously, “No, the weakest links are the ones who dropped the class already.” Awwww…sweet motivational talk.

I replied:

Personal training is kicking my ass too, and T’ai occasionally lapses into overly serious motivational speak like your boot camp guy.  But then he also mocks me when I whine by saying stuff like “oh, it would be horrible to get into the best shape of your life.  Who would want to do that?”  Chrissy and I both agree that our sessions with him are getting harder, not easier.  Which I suppose is what we’re paying him for.  At least he doesn’t yell.

Getting into the best shape of my life — I suppose that’s the source of the boot camp insanity.  The daily blog posting is less explicable.  What can you do when you live in a shoe?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

With my blogspot blog I made a point of posting something there every day as part of my routine. It wasn’t always easy but it was worth it to be so disciplined about posting. I am less regular with my photo blog but I think that’s just because I haven’t really decided what I want to do with it. I miss the creative outlet of blog writing, but I don’t want to share as much personal stuff anymore.

I think you will be able to do it for a month, and not every entry has to be long.

Comment by Rachael

Yeah, it’s the personal sharing that would keep me from posting daily too. Weekly worked, when I was doing it. Time to think about what you want to write a bit, gather material. Though at the time there was the added incentive of wanting to reassure people I hadn’t been murdered in a forest and dropped into the sea, which may explain why the writing was still often abysmal.

Still, Christina, you said you’d do it, and so you should. (and no I haven’t forgotten about starting my new one)

Comment by Arthur




Leave a Reply

