Boot camp and beyond


NYTimes story on Exercise and Weight Loss
12 September 2006 (Tuesday), 7:10 pm
Filed under: Injury, Links, Tracking progress

Exercise = Weight Loss, Except When It Doesn’t

I’ve only had a chance to skim it, but it looks interesting. I have a bunch of other interesting links that ought to be posted at some point, though they probably won’t help out whoever it was who clicked through here from searches such as

photos of people at a fitness boot camp (I won’t violate my fellow boot campers’ privacy like that.)

justin timberlake pull ups (I have this ominous feeling those last two words might not refer to the exercise sometimes known as chin ups.)

sexy motherfucker prince free mp3 (Right.)

The people who searched for cauliflower fibrous and zombie Boot camp might be in luck though, eventually.

Life’s busy and I don’t appear to have the energy to both attend boot camp and write about it this week. I’ve learned to love the burn; the next hurdle is regularly inflicting it on myself once boot camp ends September 22th. My foot and ankle are doing better but they’re only at 90% or thereabouts, so I’m not back to running yet. My GP gave me a referral for physio so sometime soon I’ll make an appointment for that, and I’ve got a massage session scheduled with an RMT for Thursday.

Regarding the exercise and weight loss, though? I’m down to the weight I was mid-July. I’m pretty sure my body composition is significantly different, so that means a bunch of fat lost, yay. I’ll get quantitative numbers around that Saturday 23 September. During the mid-July to mid-August boot camp I gained around 3 pounds, but that was net: something like 12 pounds gained muscle and water, 9 pounds of fat lost.

tags: , , , ,

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

