Boot camp and beyond


Sexy Back
3 September 2006 (Sunday), 10:33 pm
Filed under: Music, Outside boot camp log, Photos

I ought to be in bed, but tomorrow morning boot camp doesn’t start until 6 am, thanks to the long weekend. So I’ve been putting together a mix CD to bring in to be played at Boot Camp.

I’m currently addicted to Justin Timberlake’s Sexy Back. It was playing yesterday as I drove out to Burnaby to try on wedding dresses, and the front runner halter-necklined dress shows off my shoulders (already starting to look decent) and upper back (fine but unexceptional). I’d like by the end of December to be able to do at least one pull up (aka chin up), which would likely have the side benefit of making my back look awesome.

A warning for those special divers who don't need to get out of the water
This morning just thinking about developing more defined back muscles inspired me to do some lat pull downs and pec flys before I swam for twenty minutes (if several minutes doing handstands and somersaults in the middle count as swimming). I also swam a little before dinner at our friends’ place. Swimming is one of those things that I enjoy but don’t do often enough, so that every time I go down to the really lovely pool in our building I wonder why I do so so seldom. The sauna afterwards was also nice, and both felt good for my poor compensating-for-my-sore-foot legs.

Anyway, T’ai encourages people to bring in music to be played during boot camp and I want to work out to Sexy Back, so I’m taking matters into my own hands.

Criteria for inclusion in the mix:

  • a driving beat that makes me want to move;
  • I have to actually like the song;
  • in keeping with the central track, lyrics must refer to a dysfunctional or misguided relationship or at least a whiff of S&M (if anyone can come up with reasoning by which Bon Jovi’s Living on a Prayer meets this criteria, I’d be grateful; who doesn’t get pumped up by Living on a Prayer? Zombies, maybe, but boot camp is a zombie-free zone. And I wouldn’t want to pump them up if it weren’t, I’m selfish like that about my brains.);
  • only one song per artist (which is why Britney Spears’ Stronger knocked off Toxic — to my ears Toxic‘s a superior song, but getting Stronger is the whole point of boot camp so the motivational potential won out)

What I’ve got so far, alphabetically by artist:

  • The Breeders – Cannonball
  • Britney Spears – Stronger
  • The Cardigans – Lovefool OR I Need Some Fine Wine and You, You Need To Be Nicer (I haven’t decided between them yet)
  • Christina Aguilera – Fighter
  • Depeche Mode – When Doves Cry (Fatboy Slim Remix)
  • Devo – Whip It
  • Justin Timberlake – Sexy Back (Dirty, i.e. he actually says motherfucker)
  • Kylie Minogue – Red Blooded Woman
  • No Doubt – Don’t Speak
  • OK Go – Here It Goes Again
  • Pet Shop Boys – So Hard
  • Robert Palmer – Addicted to Love
  • Scissor Sisters – Filthy/Gorgeous
  • Soft Cell – Tainted Love
  • tATu – All the Things She Said
  • Tyler James – Foolish

So, what else should I fit in, and which songs should be dumped for it? I’m at roughly 2 minutes over an hour with those tracks and need to come in slightly under an hour.

tags: , , , , ,

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You and me baby ain’t nothing but mammals so let’s do it like they do on the Discovery Channel.

what’s the name of this song again?

Comment by Fat Ninja

First, you need to ditch tATu, because they don’t satisfy the unmentioned criterion of BEING GOOD!

Then add:
Ta Douleur (Camille)
Danger! High Voltage! (Electric 6)
Mr. You’re on Fire Mr. (Liars) (pretty hardcore)
On Fire (Lightning Bolt) (even more hardcore)
Hypocrite (Atibalas Afrobeat Orchestra)
Combat Baby (Metric)
Lipostudio…And So On (Matmos) (not as strong a beat, but fun in that ironic way…)
Theres No Fucking Rules Dude (!!!)
Too Fat Polka (The Andrews Sisters) (not quite a driving beat, and slightly offensive in boot camp context maybe, but funny nevertheless)
Jolie Louise (Daniel Lanois)
We’re Hardcore (Gordon Downie)
I’ll Replace You With Machines (Guided By Voices)
Lo Ultimo (Machito and his Afro-Cuubans)
Shoot Shoot! (Solex)
Who Loves the Sun (Velvet Underground)

That should give you start. I can email you any of these if you need them.

Also, Living on a Prayer is without question S&M. I mean, you’re totally asking for trouble if you want to live on prayer, plus it’s pretty cruel to, time after time, keep someone from getting any further than half way there.

Comment by Arthur

May I make a few suggestions?

Fatboy Slim – Because We Can
Groove Armada – I See You Baby
Janet Jackson – Throb
Depeche Mode – A Pain That I’m Used To (Jacques Lu Cont Remix)
Jonathan Peters – Music (Happy Radio Edit) [Featuring Maya Azucena]
Madonna – Ray of Light
Pink – Feel Good Time
Eric Prydz – Call On Me
In-Grid – Tu Es Foutu

Comment by Johnny O

Depeche Mode – When Doves Cry (Fatboy Slim Remix)

There is no cover of “When Doves Cry” by Depeche Mode. Depeche Mode has, in fact, never performed a song with the word Doves in it. This is perplexing me.

My Suggestions (holler if you need them):
“Amateur Hour” // Sparks featuring Erasure
“Minors At Night” // Adult.
“Burnt Out Car” or “He’s On The Phone” // St. Etienne
“Hey Ya!” by Outkast. Yes, overplayed. Yes, brilliant.
“Stay Gold (Future Of The Future)” by Deep Dish featuring Tracey Thorn of EBTG
“Remember” by BT
“Freezepop Forever” by Freezepop
“Krafty” or “Jetstream” by New Order

Comment by BeaucoupKevin

Prince does when doves cry.

I don’t kow if the beat’s fast enough, but try “Fine Young Cannibals – She Drives Me Crazy”

Comment by Travis

“you and me baby…”

Bad Touch, by the Bloodhound Gang (also known as the Discovery Channel Song).

Comment by Arthur

Yay, suggestions! Yeah, I too am perplexed by the When Doves Cry track labelling. It’s not Prince’s version and I think I got it from an mp3 blog, so who knows if it’s actually Fatboy Slim.

Comment by Christina

hey Xina, go for Bootiliscious by Beyonce. Its dancy, its got a good beat and is a guilty pleasure. And it makes one think of being bootiliscious! ;)i could go on for days listing songs but I won’t. -Mr. Yak

Comment by Josh




Leave a Reply

